- AccessMedicine
- AccessMedicine is an online resource that provides complete references
and services for students, physicians and health professionals who need
immediate access to current and authoritative medical information. Includes
titles such as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) 2007, Hurst's The Heart, Tintinalli's
Emergency Medicine, and the Lange Educational Library.
Return to database list.
- ASH Image Bank
- The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world. The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both the images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyper-linked to other cases, as well as to other educational resources. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images. Return to database list.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
- From the
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,
the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects and provides a wealth of information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. Return to database list.
- Biological and Chemical Weapons Control
- From the Federation of American Scientists, an organized list of education and research documents about biosecurity and chemical weapons. Return to database list.
- Biomolecular Object Network Database (BOND)
- Books@Ovid offers the complete text from popular medical reference books in an interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface. For a list of textbooks currently available, click on the Books@Ovid link on the database selection page on the Ovid Web system. Return to database list.
- Bioverse
- Books@Ovid offers the complete text from popular medical reference books in an interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface. For a list of textbooks currently available, click on the Books@Ovid link on the database selection page on the Ovid Web system. Return to database list.
- BLAST
- BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) is a set of similarity search programs designed to explore all of the available sequence databases regardless of whether the query is protein or DNA. Return to database list.
- Blood Group Antigen Gene Mutation Database
- BGMUT is a locus-specific mutation database (LSDB) that documents variations in genes that directly or indirectly affect our blood groups. Return to database list.
- BoardCertifiedDocs
- Updated daily, BoardCertifiedDocs provides access to complete and verified professional credentials (including board certification status, medical education and work history) on 600,000 board certified physicians. This data is stored in and being extracted from the database used to compose The Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists, which is published by Elsevier Science, in cooperation with American Board of Medical Specialties. Return to database list.
- Books in Print
- BooksInPrint.com Professional contains information on in print, out
of print, and forthcoming books. Return
to database list.
- Books@Ovid
- Books@Ovid offers the complete text from popular medical reference books
in an interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface. For
a list of textbooks currently available, click on the Books@Ovid link
on the database selection page on the Ovid Web system. Return
to database list.
- BRENDA Enzyme Database
-
BRENDA, from the Institute of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany,
is the largest publicly available information system worldwide on enzymes and includes information on all identified enzymes irrespective of their source. The major parts of its contents are manually extracted from primary literature. Return to database list.
- BRIDGEP
-
BRIDGEP contains three web-based applications, GenDB, EMMA and ProDB, which facilitate the processing and analysis of bacterial genome, transcriptome and proteome data. Return to database list.
- CDC Wonder
- CDC Wonder
provides access to statistical research data published by CDC
and allows searching of data sets concerning topics including mortality, cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, and natality. Return to database list.
- Chemical Abstracts
- See SciFinder Scholar. Return
to database list.
- Clinical
Evidence
- Clinical Evidence is produced by the BMJ Publishing Group. It provides
a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and
uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical
conditions based on searches and appraisal of the literature. Return
to database list.
- Clinical
Pharmacology
- Clinical Pharmacology is designed to provide timely, concise drug
information and clinical reports for medical professionals and health
care consumers. Return to
database list.
- Clinical Trials.gov
- Clinical Trials.gov
is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Return to database list.
- Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library provides the full text of regularly updated systematic
reviews of the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration,
an international network of individuals and institutions preparing,
maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of these effects.
It consists of complete reviews and protocols for reviews currently
being prepared. Return to
database list.
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Containing over 500 protocols, coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and includes features such as discussion forums and personal folders. Return
to database list.
- Current Contents Connect
- Current Contents Connect is produced by the Institute for Scientific
Information. It provides Web access to Current Contents, a current awareness
database indexing 8,000 journals, 2,200 books and conference proceedings, and 4,400 evaluated scholarly web sites, updated daily. It has seven discipline-specific editions, and 2 collections. For further information, consult the Current
Contents Connect Information Guide. Return
to database list.
- Current Index to Statistics
- Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications
in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 111 core
journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles
are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books,
and other sources. It is a joint venture of the American Statistical
Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.
Return to database list.
- dbGaP
- The database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP) contains the results of studies involving the interaction of genotype and phenotype. Such studies include genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, molecular diagnostic assays, as well as association between genotype and non-clinical traits. Return to database list.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database
- The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. Return to database list.
- EBSCOhost MasterFILE Select
- EBSCOhost MasterFILE Select provides full-text from over 750 general
reference, business, consumer health, general science, humanities, and
multicultural periodicals. Updated daily. Return
to database list.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- Encyclopedia Britannica permits users to search Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Brttannica Concise Encyclopedia, multimedia items, and videos. Britannica has over 73,000 articles. Return
to database list.
- EndNoteWeb
- EndNoteWeb is a Web-based bibliographic management program. Return
to database list.
- Entrez
- Entrez is a search and retrieval system that integrates information
from databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular
structures, whole genomes, and Medline through PubMed. Return to database
list.
- Entrez Protein
-
Entrez Protein allows users to retrieve records compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq. Return to database list.
- ERIC
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a national information
system supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational
Research and Improvement National Library of Education (NLE), designed
to provide easy access to an extensive body of education-related literature.
The ERIC database contains nearly 1 million abstracts of documents and
journal articles on education research and practice. Return
to database list.
- Ethnic News Watch
- Ethnic News Watch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Dating from 1990, ENW has a full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. ENW covers the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European communities. Return
to database list.
- ETOH
- ETOH Database from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
is the most comprehensive online bibliographic database containing over
100,000 records on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. ETOH is updated monthly
and contains research findings from the late 1960s to the present, as
well as historical research literature. Return
to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: ACP Journal Club
- EBM Reviews (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews): Best Evidence is the
American College of Physicians' Journal Club's database which provides
access to full-text issues of ACP Journal Club and ACP's newest publication,
Evidence Based Medicine. The editors of these publications review over
90 journals in internal medicine and other specialties and only choose
those articles that meet strict criteria for study design. For more information, consult the
Evidence-based Medicine Searching Guide and
Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine.
Return to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- EBM Reviews (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews): Cochrane Central Register
of Controlled Trials is a bibliographic database of over 300,000 references
to controlled trials in health care. The trials are identified by contributors
to the Cochrane Collaboration and from searches of the Medline and EMBASE
databases. For more information,
consult the Evidence-based Medicine Searching
Guide and Introduction to Evidence-Based
Medicine. Return to database
list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (DSR)
- EBM Reviews (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews): DSR provides the full text of regularly updated systematic
reviews of the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration,
an international network of individuals and institutions preparing,
maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of these effects.
It consists of complete reviews and protocols for reviews currently
being prepared. For
more information, consult the Evidence-based Medicine
Searching Guide and Introduction
to Evidence-Based Medicine.
Return to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Methodology Register
- The Cochrane Methodology Register contains over 9,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. The database includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. Relevant records are identified primarily through a program of handsearching undertaken by the UK Cochrane Centre. The register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions. Return to database
list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- EBM Reviews (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews): DARE contains the full-text
of structured critical assessments of previously published systematic
reviews of the effects of healthcare. It is produced by the staff of
the National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at
the University of York, England. DARE records cover such topics as diagnosis,
prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. For more information, consult the
Evidence-based Medicine Searching Guide and
Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine.
Return to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Health Technology Assessment
- Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), the Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). HTA is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden. The database contains records of ongoing projects being conducted by members of INAHTA as well as publications reporting completed technology assessments carried out by INAHTA members and other health technology assessment organisations. The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not provide critical appraisals of the reports, as the reports have not been evaluated by reviewers from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.
Return to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database is funded by the Department of Health's NHS Research and Development Programme, and produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), and provides cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions. The economic evaluation literature is recorded in many electronic databases and paper-based resources. For NHS EED, the staff at CRD systematically identifies economic evaluations by searching a range of electronic databases, journals, and paper-based resources. The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
Return to database list.
- Evidence
Based Medicine Reviews: Combination Search
- Evidence Based Medicine Combination Search: searches ACP Journal Club, Cochrane, DSR
and DARE simultaneously.
For more information, consult the Evidence-based
Medicine Searching Guide and Introduction
to Evidence-Based Medicine.
Return to database list.
- Exam Master Online
- Exam Master Online is a USMLE and board review tool that provides access to thousands of basic and clinical sciences questions. Users create a user ID/password to use on the site. Return to database list.
- ExPASy Proteomics Server
- The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE. Return to database list.
- Faculty of 1000 Biology & Medicine
- Faculty of 1000 Biology and Medicine are authoritative online services in which almost 5,000 leading researchers and clinicians share their expert opinions by highlighting and evaluating the most important articles in biology and medicine. Return to database list.
- Foundation Directory Online
- Foundation Directory Online Professional is a database of over 92,000 grantmakers and 1.3 million grants. Funder portfolios include a grantmaker's current and archived news, requests for proposals, job postings, key staff affiliations, publications, printable color charts illustrating grant distributions, and customized searching within a funder's grants list. Return to database list.
- GELBANK
- GELBANK provides an interactive interface for the comparison of two-dimensional gel electrophoresis (2DE) patterns in the context of proteome sequence queries. Return to database list.
- Global Health
- Global Health is a bibliographic database of international research information on public health. Information comes from serials, books, conference proceedings, patents and other sources.Return to database list.
- Health
& Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) database, produced by Behavioral
Measurement Database Services (BMDS), provides access to information
on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences,
organizational behavior, and library and information science. For more information, consult Sources
for Psychological Tests and Measures. Return
to database list.
- Health
& Wellness Resource Center
- Health & Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive resource
for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access
to medical, health, and wellness information. Health & Wellness
Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text
magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative
medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals
are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web
sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness. Return
to database list.
- Health
Reference Center Academic
- Database designed especially for lay health research. Indexes selected
medical and consumer periodicals, health newsletters, reference books,
referral information, topical overviews, and pamphlets. Includes some
full-text. Return to database list.
- HerbMed
- Evidence-based database on the use of thirty herbs for health. Return to database list.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
- Updated in 2006, this source contains a variety of quantitative historical facts about the United States. Users can create their own tables, or else download pre-existing tables in Microsoft Excel or Access formats. Broad topics covered include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Return to database list.
- Household Products Database
- Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Household Products Database
provides information on ingredients, potential health effects, and safety
and handling of many types of household products. Return to database list.
- HRSA Data Warehouse
- From the Health Resources and Services Administration, the Data Warehouse provides a single point of access to HRSA programmatic information, related health
resources, and demographic data related to uninsured, underserved, and special needs populations. Return to database list.
- HRSA State Profiles
- From the Health Resources and Services Administration,
this site compiles data on levels of employment, projected growth and key environmental factors that affect demand for health care. Details for medicine, nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, mental health and aides are included. Return to database list.
- Human
Anatomy
- Human Anatomy is an interactive cadaveric dissection tutorial. Designed
to be used as a comprehensive supplement to the gross lab, this program
takes the student step-by-step through dissection procedures using the
world's largest collection of cadaveric photographs, hundreds of hand-drawn
illustrations, and photos from models and skeletons. Return
to database list.
- IBIDS: International
Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
- Free database of citations only to published, international scientific
literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and
botanicals. Produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National
Institutes of Health. Return
to database list.
- In the First Person
- In the First Person indexes over 2,500 first-person narrativesincluding letters, diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories. The database is updated quarterly. Return to database list.
- InBase, The Intein Database and Registry
-
InBase provides detailed information about inteins (self-catalytic protein splicing elements) in a layered format with general discussions and tables pointing to more specific data. Return to database list.
- Index-Catalogue of the Library
of the Surgeon-General's Office
- The online Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's
Office, printed from 1880-1961 in five (5) series consisting of sixty-one
(61) volumes. The Index-Catalogue was initiated by John Shaw Billings,
the principal indexer for Series I. Billings expanded the Library of
the Surgeon-General's Office into a major medical and scientific collection
and created Index Medicus (1879-2004) as well as the Index-Catalogue
-- each a cornerstone for the foundation of the National Library of
Medicine (NLM). Subject Headings are not MeSH. There are Index-Catalogue
headings that may differ both in format and content among series. Return
to database list.
- InfoShare
- Infoshare contains population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, and local economic data. It allows the user to profile a specific area, compare the area across a region, and produce tabulations. Return
to database list.
- IPI (International Protein Index)
-
IPI offers complete, non-redundant protein sets for the human, mouse and rat. Each entry represents a cluster of entries from the source databases believed to represent the same protein. Return to database list.
- Interactive Fly
-
- The Interactive Fly is an extensive web-based guide to Drosophila development and metazoan evolution. Return to database list.
- Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factors)
- Journal Citation Reports let users evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. They show the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR include virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Updated annually. Return
to database list.
- JVirGel
-
JVirGel is a collection of tools for the simulation and analysis of proteomics data. The software creates and visualizes virtual two-dimensional (2D) protein gels.Return to database list.
- Kaiser Family Foundation Charts and Data
-
Chartpacks, chartbooks, and slide presentations from the Kaiser Family Foundation
on issues such as the uninsured, health care costs, global HIV/AIDS, racial disparities, and women’s health policy may be incorporated into reports and presentations. Return to database list.
- Lexi-Comp Online
- Lexi-Comp Online is a drug information resource made up of the following databases: Lex-Drugs, AHFS Drug Information Essentials, AHFS Drug Information, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, Lexi-Drugs International, Lexi-Natural Products, Lexi-Infectious Diseases, Lexi-Lab & Diagnostic Products, Lexi-Pharmacogenomics, Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis, Clinician's Guide to Internal Medicine, Clinician's Guide to Laboratory Medicine, Lexi-NBCA (Nuclear, Biological, & Chemical Agent Exposure). Return to database list.
- LexisNexis Academic
- LexisNexis® Academic provides access to full-text news, business and legal publications, including over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources, backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national & regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news & non-English language sources. The Company Dossier module contains company information & financial performance measures. Return to database list.
- LILACS
- LILACS, published by the VHL (Virtual Health Library) network, covers health sciences literature published in Latin America and the Caribbean countries since 1982. It contains more than 400,000 records and includes articles from about 1,300 of the most well-known journals in the health area, from which about 730 ones are indexed. Return
to database list.
- Linscott's
Directory of Immunological and Biological Reagents
- Directory containing over 100,000 different listings for products
(including antibodies, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, lectins,
neuropeptides or immunoassays) and services available from more than
500 different commercial and governmental sources. International in
scope. Return
to database list.
- Medicine and Molecular Biology Databases
- 900 freely available databases on medicine and molecular biology, searchable in English and German. Return to database list.
- MEDLINE
- MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and covers
the international literature on biomedicine, including allied health
and biological and physical sciences, from over 4,000 journals. Return
to database list.
- MEDLINEPlus
- MEDLINEPlus provides up-to-date quality health care information from
the National Library of Medicine offering access to extensive information
about specific diseases and conditions and links to consumer health
information from the National Institutes of Health, dictionaries, lists
of hospitals and physicians, health information in Spanish and other
languages, and clinical trials. Return
to database list.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This database product contains data from Yearbooks 9 through 16. Return
to database list.
- NAR Molecular Biology Database Collection
- A huge international collection of databases from the journal Nucleic Acid Research, grouped according to topic and updated annually. Return to database list.
- National Cancer Institute
- The National Cancer Institute web site provides recent and accurate
information on cancer research including treatment options, clinical
trials, ways to reduce cancer risk, cope with cancer, as well as resources
on support groups, financial assistance, educational materials, and
more. Includes access to the Cancerlit bibliographic database of journal
articles, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses, published
from the 1960's to the present. Return to database list.
- National
Newspaper Index
- Indexes five top newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor,
The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall
Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Return
to database list.
- NCBI
Bookshelf
- NCBI Bookshelf is a collection of 40 biomedical textbooks, which are
searchable and available in full-text. Return
to database list.
- Newspapers
Full-Text
- Full-text of more than 120 national and international newspapers.
Return to database list.
- New
York State Newspapers
- Full-text of more than 10 newspapers from different regions of New
York State. Return to database
list.
- NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
- The NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database provides access to the energies of many photoelectron and Auger-electron spectral lines. Return to database list.
- NLM Gateway
- The NLM Gateway allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems
at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway
searches MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR
Meetings, HSRProj, MEDLINEplus and DIRLINE. Return
to database list.
- OMIM
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) is a catalog of human genes
and genetic disorders developed for the WWW by the National Center for
Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which contains textual information,
pictures, and reference information. Return
to database list.
- OPD
-
OPD (Open Proteomics Database) is a public repository for storing and disseminating mass spectrometry based proteomics data. It currently contains roughly 3,000,000 spectra representing experiments from 5 different organisms.
Return to database list.
- OMSSA
-
OMSSA (Open Mass Spectrometry Search Algorithm) is a search engine for identifying MS/MS peptide spectra by searching libraries of known protein sequences. Return to database list.
- Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) English E-Book Collection
-
Sixteen PAHO e-books on Latin American public health, including Health Statistics from the Americas. Return to database list.
- PEP
-
PEP (Predictions for Entire Proteomes) allows users to predict entire proteomes based on available genomes. The database contains summaries of analyses of protein sequences from eukaryotes, prokaryotes and archaea. Return to database list.
- PepSeeker
-
PepSeeker makes available peptide identification and ion information from proteome experiments. The database currently contains more than 185,000 peptides and associated database search information. Return to database list.
- PeptideAtlas
-
Peptide Atlas is a multi-organism, publicly accessible compendium of peptides identified in a large set of tandem mass spectrometry proteomics experiments. Return to database list.
- PIR
-
PIR (Protein Information Resource) provides databases and protein sequence analysis tools, including the Protein Sequence Database. PIR’s current activities include: UniProt (Universal Protein Resource) development, iProClass protein data integration and ID mapping, PIRSF protein classification and iProLINK protein literature mining and ontology development. Return to database list.
- PreMEDLINE
- PREMEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides
basic citation information and abstracts before journal records are
fully indexed and put into MEDLINE. Once the complete records are entered
into MEDLINE, they are deleted from PREMEDLINE. Return to
database list.
- PRIDE
-
PRIDE, the open source PRoteomics IDEntifications database, offers a web-based query interface, a user-friendly data upload facility, and a documented application programming interface for direct computational access.to protein data. Return to database list.
- Project MUSE®
- Project MUSE provides full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Return to
database list.
- Proteome
- The Proteome suite provides access to six protein databases: YPD, HumanPSD, WormPD, GPCR-PD, PombePD, and MycopathPD. The databases feature disease information, references, Bioknowledge transfer and integrated resources. One-time site registration required. Return
to database list.
- Proteome Analyst
-
Proteome Analyst is a web-based system for predicting various properties of each protein in an entire proteome.
Return to database list.
- PsycBooks
- PsycBooks contains full text of scholarly book titles published by
the American Psychological Association (APA) in Portable Document Format
(PDF). Return
to database list.
- PsychiatryOnline
- PsychiatryOnline provides access to a variety of psychiatry resources from American Psychiatric Publishing. Included are the DSM-IV-TR, The American Journal of Psychiatry, as well as other journals and textbooks. Return
to database list.
- PsycINFO
- PsycINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association and
contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters,
technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology and
psychological aspects of related disciplines. Return to
database list.
- PubChem
- Developed by NCBI and NLM, PubChem contains the chemical structures
of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
When possible, PubChem's chemical structure records are linked to other
NCBI databases. These include PubMed and NCBI's
protein 3D structure database. PubChem also contains the results
of high-throughput biological screening experiments. Return to database list.
- PubMed
- PubMed was developed by NCBI and NLM in conjunction with publishers
of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations
and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers.
Bibliographic information is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMedline,
HealthSTAR, and publisher-supplied citations, and links are provided
to the integrated molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez
system. Return
to database list.
- PubMed Central
- PubMed Central is a web-based NIH repository for free access to full-text
peer-reviewed primary research reports from journals in the life sciences,
as well as to reports that have been screened but not peer-reviewed. Return
to database list.
- RefWorks
- RefWorks is a Web-based bibliographic management program. Return
to database list.
- ScanSite
-
ScanSite searches for motifs within proteins that are likely to be phosphorylated by specific protein kinases or bind to domains such as SH2 domains, 14-3-3 domains or PDZ domains. Return to database list.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
- SciFinder Scholar is an index to chemical literature. Citations are from the CAplus database, containing over 25 million documents, and MEDLINE, with over 15 million biomedical citations. Access is also provided to CAS Registry, containing more than 31 million organic and inorganic substances and 59 million sequences. SciFinder Scholar requires a proprietary software client, which is available for Windows and Macs. Accessible from on campus only. Return
to database list.
- SPIN
- SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a database produced
by Infoed International, Inc. and contains comprehensive profiles of
thousands of national and international funding opportunities from government
and private sources. For further information, consult the Grants Database
Guide: SPIN. Return
to database list.
- Springer Protocols
-
Springer Protocols contains more than 18,000 "recipes" used to recreate laboratory experiments. It is based on Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Return to database list.
- STATREF
- STATREF is a searchable collection of the full-text of over 40 current
medical books. Return to database
list.
- SynDB
-
SynDB (Synapse Database) is an online resource of proteins known or predicted to be related to the synapse or synaptic activity. Return to database list.
- TOXNET
- TOXNET is produced by NLM through its Specialized Information Services
Division and provides a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous
chemicals, and related areas. It offers access to factual information,
toxicology literature, toxic release information, and chemical information. Return
to database list.
- uCentral
- Merck Manual and Clinical Evidence for PDAs, smart phones, Blackberries, and iPhones. Return
to database list.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
- Ulrich's provides detailed information on more than 290,000 periodicals of all types from around the world. Titles from more than 900 subject areas are included. Return
to database list.
- Web of Science
- Web of Science includes access to Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). SCI fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI fully indexes 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Coverage goes back to 1996. A citation index contains the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index, which enables a user to do cited reference searching. Return
to database list.
- Who's Who on the
Web
- Who's Who on the Web contains profiles of over 1 million accomplished
individuals from various industries, including government, business,
science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Searches
can be conducted by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and
interests, religion, and more. New biographies are added daily. Return
to database list.
- WormAtlas
- WormAtlas is a database and atlas of the behavioral and structural anatomy of the Caenorhabditis elegans, put out by researchers in the AECOM Neuroscience Department. Return
to database list.
|